ZTree.com  | ZEN  | About...  

Index   Back

[Discuss] Changing TXT editor (SIGH)   [Discuss]

By: Art Kocsis     So Calif  
Date: May 02,2016 at 23:49
In Response to: [Discuss] Changing TXT editor (SIGH) (Paul Laufer)

> I've been a TSEPro text editor user for some 20 years, but because
> of its limitation on line length I've had to switch to Notepad++ lately.
> Then recently I had to edit a 2 GIG and a 8 GIG .SQL file and Notepad++
> was unable to open files that large. So I searched a little and found
> Ultra Edit. http://www.ultraedit.com The 30 day demo did the job and
> seemed to be quite feature rich, stable and well supported.
>
> I am not one to change text editors lightly, but I'm considering
> purchasing Ultra Edit. Anyone have any thoughts on that?

> I've been a TSEPro text editor user for some 20 years, but because
> of its limitation on line length I've had to switch to Notepad++ lately.
> Then recently I had to edit a 2 GIG and a 8 GIG .SQL file and Notepad++
> was unable to open files that large. So I searched a little and found
> Ultra Edit. http://www.ultraedit.com The 30 day demo did the job and
> seemed to be quite feature rich, stable and well supported.
>
> I am not one to change text editors lightly, but I'm considering
> purchasing Ultra Edit. Anyone have any thoughts on that?

Frances Wohlfelder's post reminded me of 010 Editor. I had looked at this editor years ago but had forgotten about it. Even then it was a powerful editor but, due to inertia and having an already paid for editor with lots of investment in custom coding, I did not switch.

Out of curiosity, I looked at it again and I must say it is very impressive - more so than UltraEdit. In a nutshell, I think 010 Editor is much more capable (and cheaper), than UltraEdit and you should give it a try.

http://www.sweetscape.com/010editor/features.html